Higher Learning Commission


Find Accredited Institutions arrow


Competency-Based Education Change Form Available

Institutions interested in ensuring that competency-based education programs are eligible for Title IV are required to obtain approval from their regional accreditor and may also need to file an application for approval with the U.S. Department of Education. Institutions should check with their local U.S. Department of Education representative to determine whether the competency-based programs under review by HLC will also require approval by the U.S. Department of Education.

Latest News

More News >>

Policy Updates

Adopted: Policy changes related to assumed practices (effective September 1, 2017; see implementation timeline)

The HLC Board of Trustees approved on first reading the following proposed revised policies on June 25–26, 2015. Comments are invited on the proposals before the Board takes final action in November 2015. Please email comments to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by September 8, 2015.

Sign In

Assurance System

Other platforms >>

About HLC

The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region of the United States.

Download HLC's 2015 Resource Guide.

Learn more about HLC >>